top of page

Contemplating Numbers

Updated: May 31, 2018

Poems by Addie, Josie, Eliza, Julia, Riley, Aghogho, Mackenzie, Sevi & Lindsay. Taking the joy of writing a little further, the Creative Writing class contemplated numbers and their implicit beauty. These poems are inspired by and dedicated to Mr. Perkins, for his enthusiasm for integers.



0

I am nothing

When you use me and I am blushing

I don’t feel that special

I’m not even a level

The only time people multiply me I turn just another to nothing

I feel I am crushing

Crushing down others

Those others are numbers

What can I be

I will never be able to see

My possibility

By: Addie '20


Number Poem

Swooping, soft, and curving

The number is a two,

Soft on top, sharp on the bottom,

It can be half of a heart,

A form of true art!

By Josie '18


Number

The number 3 looks like a backwards E.

If you turn it to the right it looks like a W

and when you turn it to the left it turns into an M.

As you write the number,

your pencil can easily flow on the page

By: Eliza '20


An ode to “8”

The number “8” ,

always sounds nice to me,

When you say “8”,

Your lips would always curl up uncontrollably.

It is a beautiful number,

When you run a pencil over it,

It never comes to a end,

The form of infinity.


Chinese people favor this number

in every New Year's card.

The Chinese letter “8”

Sounds exactly like the letter for “wealthy”,


And it also looks like a calabash,

Which signifies long living!

By: Julia '19


“6”

6 reminds me of a soccer ball at my feet,

It’s also the number I can actually write neat,

It take me back when I learn how to tie a lace,

When I was six I had my first bobster taste.

By: Riley Robinson ’20


I am everything yet nothing

I am everything yet nothing,

Each thing made up of my 360 degree,

A loop,

I continue to spin as a ferris wheel in a starry night,

The sun even like me,

Its perfect roundness,

I am everything yet nothing.

By: Aghogho ’20


Ode to 4

For or four, you may ask

one is a spelling for a number

the other, a word written on a gift tag

4 is a square,

but also a pitchfork

maybe a candlestick.

Its possibilities are endless.

By: Mackenzie '20


Number

The one weighs a ton

The two is also called poo

The three is me

The four is a bore

The five is still alive

The six is under a crucifix

The seven is already in heaven

The eight is already late

The nine is all mine

By: Sevi '20


Numbers

Number “1” reminds me of a exclamation point

Number “1” reminds me of level one

Which means everyone started from number one

It has a pointy part

It also has a flat part

It reminds me of when I was a year young

By: Lindsay '20

14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page