top of page

Food Memories

Poems inspired by Edward Hirsch's poem "Cotton Candy." Continue reading for works by Julia, CJ, Sevi, Josie, Mackenzie, Eliza and August.



Beef Udon

It was a winter night at a Japanese noodle shop,

The shop was filled with delightful green light and very crowded,

Filled with nice Japanese greetings and beaming of waiters.

The wind was howling outside,

The bowl of Udon was what gave us warmth.

It was the smell of the salty miso soup and the slippery hot udon,

And the whispering and chattering with my mother.

Let this memory become unforgettable.

Every bite of Udon,

The delicious noodles, and crisp seaweed,

The beautiful smell reminds me each time,

Of the calm and joyful image of my dear mother.

By: Julia ' 19


Christmas Dinner

There is no place like home,

The food was delicious and so delightful,

The tree was lit by bunches of light.

We all gather around the kitchen,

Prepared to say grace.

But there was one person that I can remember her face,

There is no place like home.

By: CJ '20


Jalapeño

I sat on the kitchen counter,

I could hear the knife hitting the cutboard,

The smell of jalapeño’s were strong,

My eyes started to water

From the jalapeño and onion atmosphere.

By: Sevi '20


Barcelona

As we ran down the streets of Barcelona

My sister and I

We stopped at a colorful sidewalk shop

that smelled of a sweet heaven

And sat on the wooden benches

Eating our newly acquired ice cream

Basking in the sun of Barcelona.

By Josie: '19


Barbecue

We skipped past the cooling grill on the deck

We sat in the twisty chairs and picked up a leg.

The tangy chicken with gentle grill marks

The grill on which they had been cooked was closed.

Done for the meal.

My fingers touched the BBQ glaze that had been tenderly painted

My teeth punctured the skin

And then sauce emerged from my lips as a smile

My dad smeared some sauce on my nose

And I replied with a giggle.

The smokey flavor would always come out on top.

By Mackenzie: '20


Ice cream

I sat in the ice cream filled shop.

The sweet air overwhelmed me with a feeling of happiness.

A polka dot chair beneath me the door was open, and a warm breeze filled the shop.

I was happy, and content as I took my first bite of ice cream,

I felt a sweet coldness fill my mouth it was delicious.

By: Eliza '20

Air Heads

We jumped off the cliffs

In cold northern Maine,

We ate airheads

Which brought out the summer

In the freezing water.

One day,

that cliff,

Gone forever.

I still remember looking up

Seeing the hot and glimmering stone

Of the cliff which had drawn us here.

Eating the tangy, sweet, airheads

with my dog jumping off

for the very last time.

But he still loves, still cares, still plays

And I remember that 7 year old boy

Who tasted to sour delectable taste of summer

Which still lingers in my mouth

Which disappears when I breathe

But the memory will not.

Auggie: '20




31 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page