top of page

Tanka Poems

Inspired by "For sale: baby shoes, never worn" Yujin, Lindsay, Julia, Sevi, Eliza, Giaco and Mackenzie wrote their own poems based on a sole pair of shoes.

Shoes that match the ocean blue

Walking pairs of two

Shoes that match the ocean blue

On the golden floor

Dancing blurs that want to soar

Who would think these shoes are true?

By: Yujin '20


Flip Flops

Lazy flip flops

In the heat walk over sand

Wind blows across feet

To cool down the burning toes

Reminding us that the summer has come

By: Lindsay '20


Skate boy

Dim lamps lit the dark streets,

The skateboard wheels rolled and turned,

Could he vaguely tell,

The aged sneakers sliding through the ground,

Really belong to his own, unconscious body?

By: Julia '19


MONSTER

There it was, massive.

He saw it with his own eyes

He stood motionless

It stared directly at him

That was all he remembered

By: Sevi '20


Yellow Dash

My wheels rolled quickly

I flew up through the streets

It was a big blast

A dash of yellow struck me

I soon became blinded

By: Eliza '20


The Bear

The steam is frigid,

As I walk through the forest,

Then I see a bear,

The bear is dark and immense,

I run as fast as I can.

By: Giaco '20


The lost pair

They were far gone now,

Not where they were last spotted,

I miss their last steps,

The search party has been sent,

To help find my comfy shoes.

By Mackenzie '20


47 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page