top of page

Wish You Were Here By: Chloe '22

Updated: May 10, 2018



Wish You Were Here

I remember my last visit to you. It was in the early summer I think.

Your house was ever so welcoming, I never wanted to blink.

My time with you was precious, that much I knew, and while I was there it seemed like time slowed down, down down.

Down.

Down.

Your life was brutal, childhood ruined. Yet through it all you showed hope, hope, hope.

Hope.

Hope.

What I would give to have one last visit with you.

One last chance to not think I was so cool, cool, cool.

Cool.

Cool.

I squandered

my final days with you in person,

Listening to my headphones, instead of listening to you.

Why didn’t you warn me, I would never see you again?

I still grieve for you, and I feel

down, down down.

Down.

Down.

You are my grandpa, and I, I am your foolish granddaughter,

I’m sorry, sorry, sorry,

Sorry.

Sorry.

Now I know.

Savour time with the people most cherished,

for I now covet time with my grandfather.


By: Chloe '22

30 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page